Home - , , - Google Fi Upgrades to RCS, Adding 4G Roaming in 33 Countries

Google Fi Upgrades to RCS, Adding 4G Roaming in 33 Countries

Google has just updated its Google Fi service.

Earlier today, Google revealed that its Google Fi mobile service now comes with support for RCS messaging. Google is upgrading the default messaging on eligible devices to this new messaging standard. Once the service is available, Google Fi users can get to enjoy more features than a typical SMS message.

Among the features available on RCS include the following:

  • Typing indicators
  • Read receipts
  • Share high-resolution videos
  • Message over Wi-Fi or data with other RCS-enabled devices

The messaging service is not limited to friends and family members on RCS-enabled devices. Businesses who use the service can also take part in all the fun. 

Right now, RCS is compatible on select Android devices and on phones designed for Fi. This means that if you are using a phone designed for Fi, you will automatically get to enjoy RCS. Otherwise, you will have to download Messages and go through setting it up as your default messaging app. 

In addition to its RCS upgrade, Google is upgrading its data coverage access in 33 countries. This way, Google Fi users can enjoy faster 4G LTE coverage while they're vacationing in these countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium 
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • United Kingdom

 Prior to today's announcement, the service is available in over 200 countries with 3G data speed. 

Source: Google Fi 

Tags: , ,


Comment Page :
  1. we presently have the first four features listed for RCS messaging on our T-Mobile account

Comment Page :

All comments must be approved before they will appear. The following types of comments will not be approved: off topic comments, insults or personal attacks directed at other commenters, bigotry, hate, sexism and profanity.